Countdown to WRX of Spain (CEST)

27 Jun 2013

CEZ/NEZ/DRX: Round-up

Category: Miscellaneous, News Posted 27.06.13 22:51 by

Round 3 of the Central European Zone Rallycross Championship (CEZ) was hosted at Kakucs, Round 1 of the Northern European Zone Rallycross Championship (NEZ) at Momarken, and Round 3 of the German Rallycross Championship (DRX) at Buxtehude.


CEZ/ARC/HRC: Round 3 of the Central European Zone Rallycross Championship (CEZ) took place at the Kakucsring in Hungary and counted also as Round 2 for the Austrian and Round 5 for the Hungarian Rallycross Championships. The venue is actually a circuit for Karting, the tarmac sections are fast, but the gravel parts rather bumpy.

Hungarian Zoltán Harsányi won in SuperCars, after an argument with his compatriot Tamás Kárai in the first corner of the A final. The two Austrian archrivals Alois Höller and Peter Ramler remained rather calm this time, the Ford campaigner made it to second place, the Seat driver claimed third place and a step of the SuperCars rostrum. Round 1 winner Jürgen Weiß smashed his Ford Focus Mk1 against a concrete track barrier. The Austrian later stated that he would not be able to start again this year, due to the poor condition of his car after the crash.

While Austrian Klaus Freudenthaler scored a well deserved victory among the Super1600 drivers in SuperNationals it was Czech Jakub Bittman who was able to beat his fellow-countryman Roman Častoral to second place here. SuperNationals leader before Kakucs, Austrian Gerald Woldrich, crashed his Mercedes C230 Turbo against one of the concrete track barriers and finished in a poor 10th place in Hungary.

  • Round 3, CEZ Rallycross Championship, Kakucs (H), June 22–23
  • 1. Zoltán Harsányi (H) Mitsubishi Lancer E5
  • 2. Alois Höller (A) Ford Focus Mk1
  • 3. Peter Ramler (A) Seat Leon Mk1
  • 4. Attila Mózer (H) Škoda Fabia Mk2
  • 5. Tamás Kárai (H) Škoda Fabia Mk1
  • 6. Jürgen Weiß (A) Ford Focus Mk1
  • 1. Klaus Freudenthaler (A) Škoda Fabia Mk1
  • 2. Gábor Bánkuti Jr. (H) Peugeot 206
  • 3. Werner Panhauser (A) Citroën C2
  • 4. Béla Goracz (H) Opel Corsa C
  • 5. Gábor Majerszky (H) Suzuki Swift Sport RS
  • 6. Václav Veverka Jr. (CZ) Peugeot 206
  • 1. Jakub Bittman (CZ) Peugeot 206
  • 2. Roman Častoral (CZ) Opel Astra G
  • 3. Mario Leonhardsberger (A) Honda Civic Mk7 Type-R
  • 4. “Luigi” (H) Seat Ibiza Mk2
  • 5. Gergely Marton (H) Škoda Fabia Mk1
  • 6. Karol Šedivý (SK) Seat Ibiza Mk2


NEZ: The former ERC venue Momarken Bilbane in Norway hosted the Northern European Zone Rallycross Championship opener, on Saturday the track had been used for Round 3 of the Norwegian Rallycross Championship. The winners of the NEZ round were Norwegian Håkon Gjesdal Nilsen in SuperCars, Norwegian Terje Morstad in NEZ Open, and Norwegian Christian Sandmo in NEZ 1600. The only victory that fell prey to a foreigner was the one of NEZ 1600, here it was Lithuanian Ernestas Staponkus who left the Norwegians Robin Bakke Andresen and (1990s ERC racer with Audi Coupé S2) Svein Guttorm Nielsen behind.

  • Round 1, NEZ Rallycross Championship, Momarken (N), June 22–23
  • 1. Håkon Gjesdal Nilsen (N) Volvo S40 Mk1
  • 2. Kazimieras Gudžiūnas (LT) Ford Puma
  • 3. Tony Lund Tjelle (N) Mitsubishi Lancer E3
  • 1. Terje Morstad (N) BMW E46 M3
  • 2. Ola Frøshaug (N) Volvo S40
  • 3. Fredrik Salsten (S) Subaru Impreza GR
  • 4. Børre Håkelia (N) Volvo S40
  • 5. Fredrik Rolid Magnussen (N) Ford Focus Mk1
  • 6. Kim Roar Johansen (N) Opel Astra G
  • 7. Tommy Jakobsen (N) Volvo 240
  • 8. Runar Thon (N) VW 1500
  • 1. Christian Sandmo (N) Opel Kadett E
  • 2. Ben-Philip Gundersen (N) Ford Fiesta Mk6
  • 3. Per Magne Røyrås (N) Peugeot 206 RWD
  • 4. Torbjørn Ulla (N) Citroën C4
  • 5. Allan Jørgensen (DK) Opel Corsa B
  • 6. Pål Tønsberg (N) Opel Calibra
  • 7. Toms Ziedans (LV) VW Golf Mk3
  • 8. Åge Roar Hansen (N) Ford Fiesta Mk6
  • 1. Ernestas Staponkus (LT) VW Polo Mk4/9N3
  • 2. Robin Bakke Andresen (N) Opel Corsa C
  • 3. Svein Guttorm Nielsen (N) Peugeot 106
  • 4. Jānis Baumanis (LV) Peugeot 206
  • 5. Magnus Borthen (N) Peugeot 206
  • 6. Tony Nabben (N) VW Polo Mk3/6N2
  • 7. Domas Vercinskas (LT) VAZ Lada-Samara
  • 8. Martinš Porietis (LV) Peugeot 307


DRX: For many a year the Estering hosted four Rallycross events a season, but this year just two. Last weekend saw the only round counting for the DRX tagged German Rallycross Championship, by the end of September Buxtehude is going to host the Finale of the FIA European Rallycross Championship.

The SuperCars division had only three starters on offer, German Bernd Schomaker won from Dutchman Marcel Ottink and fellow German Jörg Jockel. In the Super1600s category Estering “landlord” Andreas Steffen drove his first DRX round, the Škoda campaigner setting the fastest times in all three qualifying heats as well as winning the A final. However, it is website owner Andreas Schrader who is leading the DRX series after three rounds now, although the man from Hamburg was not able to participate in the main final. A drive-shaft of his VW Polo had called it a day early in the event, Schrader was not able to repair the damage caused by an attack of Dutchman Niels van de Warrenburg.

Among the SuperNational contenders the two Volvo PV 544’s of German Rallycross lady Silva Winterhoff and Swede Ulf Arwidsson are the favourites with the spectators. In the A final they were driving almost side by side towards the first corner, but at the end it was the guest who took the cup for the winner home to Sweden. Pole Bartlomiej Ruszczynski eventually made it to runner-up, beating Frau Winterhoff down to third place. The winners’ podium of the Rallycross Cup category was taken by three Citroën AX GTI drivers, Björn Brüning-Zedler won the “hornets class” from Andreas Friskovec and Sven Heeder.

  • Round 3, German Rallycross Championship, Buxtehude, June 22–23
  • 1. Bernd Schomaker (D) Škoda Fabia Mk1
  • 2. Marcel Ottink (NL) Škoda Fabia Mk2
  • 3. Jörg Jockel (D) Ford Focus Mk2
  • 1. Andreas Steffen (D) Škoda Fabia Mk2
  • 2. Niels van de Warrenburg (NL) Toyota Yaris Mk2
  • 3. Kim Dall (DK) Renault Clio Mk2
  • 4. Erik Jockel (D) Škoda Fabia Mk1
  • 5. Jan Petersen (DK) Renault Clio Mk2
  • 6. Andreas Schrader (D) VW Polo Mk3/6N2
  • 1. Ulf Arwidsson (S) Volvo PV 544
  • 2. Bartlomiej Ruszczynski (PL) Alfa Romeo 156
  • 3. Silva Winterhoff ♀ (D) Volvo PV 544
  • 4. Ole Bech (DK) Peugeot 306 S16
  • 5. Ralph Wilhelm (D) Renault Clio Mk2
  • 6. Marco Wittkovski (D) VW Golf Mk3
  • 7. Fred Czaja (D) VW Golf Mk1
  • 8. Swen Grupe (D) VW Golf Mk2
  • 1. Björn Brüning-Zedler (D) Citroën AX GTI
  • 2. Andreas Friskovec (D) Citroën AX GTI
  • 3. Sven Heeder (D) Citroën AX GTI
  • 4. Hein van de Warrenburg (NL) Toyota Yaris Mk2
  • 5. Florian Viehmann (D) VW Polo Mk3/6N
  • 6. Dirk Rux (D) VW Polo Mk3/6N
  • 7. Chris Jänecke (D) Suzuki Swift 1300
  • 8. Jannik Riese (D) VW Polo Mk3/6N