Countdown to WRX of Spain (CEST)

01 Jul 2013

GRC: Topi rules Munich 2

Category: GRC, News Posted 01.07.13 02:19 by

Finnish Rallycross youngster Toomas Heikkinen ruled Day 2 of the Munich X Games and eventually claimed the Gold Medal by beating Englishman Liam Doran and American Tanner Foust in the second German Final.


After winning the bronze medal on Saturday that young Finn Toomas Heikkinen promised to do better on Sunday, and so he did. In the ‘Seeding’ sessions “Topi” was in the first race and set the fastest time of all 17 competitors, being the only one to drive a FröttmaRing lap in under 41 seconds. Second fastest was Brian Deegan, more than half a second behind his OlsbergsMSE teammate, while OMSE’s Patrik Sandell was third fastest.

Heat 1 was the next step towards overall victory for Heikkinen. He won the start to run away from his opponents, eventually winning with an 8 seconds margin over Steve Arpin. The Canadian had passed Anton Marklund in the third lap, the Swede subsequently crashing his VW Polo with steering problems hard into the tyre walls.

Heat 2 went to Rallycross newcomer Mattias Ekström, the Swede here winning being almost 4 seconds ahead of triple European Rallycross Champion Sverre Isachsen. The Norwegian produced a poor start, but was able to pass his teammate “Bucky” Lasek after half of the distance to the finish to pave himself a straight way into the Final.

Heat 3 was the playground for Liam Doran who won the sprint to the first corner as well as the whole race from Ken Block. The American was only once side by side with the Englishman, but then dropped back again. The fastest lap was clocked for Patrik Sandell, who, in sight of the finish line, came pretty close to Block.

Heat 4 saw a great drive by Brian Deegan. The American had warmed up his tyres on his way to the startline, but as this is not allowed, due to the GRC rules, he was ordered to start from the third row of the grid. However, in anger Deegan produced a perfect sprint to the first corner, battled it out with Tanner Foust, and was after less than half a lap in the lead. When he passed the chequered flag he was almost 6 seconds ahead of his fellow Fiesta driver.

The ‘Last Chance Qualifier’ needed a total of three start attempts to eventually become the stairway to the Final for American Scott Bell and Brazilian Guilherme Spinelli. In the first one Dave Mirra crashed unintentional into the Dodge Dart of Bryce Menzies, the Subaru driver then being forced to throw in the towel. As Mirra’s Impreza had become an obstacle on the racing line the red flag was used to stop the event. The Rerun was done with eight cars, but ended again early, due to crashes of Scott Speed, Anton Marklund and Patrik Sandell. The third try led to a good result for Bell and Spinelli, after Timur Timerzyanov had crashed out early.

In the Final it was Liam Doran who won the sprint to the first corner, but a little later the MINI driver was forced by Toomas Heikkinen to open the door wide for the Finn. “Topi” sneaked through the gap and then stormed towards the chequered flag, eventually winning with a four and a half seconds margin from the Brit. Tanner Foust made it to third and Mattias Ekström to fourth overall. Ken Block had jumped the start, was send into the ‘Penalty Box’, and subsequently made his way up to fifth place, thereby attacking Sverre Isachsen who then dropped down from fourth to ninth place. Earlier on Isachsen had a good start, but was hit into the first corner. The Norwegian’s car was up on two wheels, but he was able to continue. “Then Ken Block came out of nowhere and drove right into me. I don’t know what he was thinking, but he ruined my race,” claimed the Subaru driver later.

Update: PUBLIC APOLOGY BY KEN BLOCK: “I was DQ’d from today’s X Games Munich race because of an aggressive move I made at the end of the final. After a terrible start, I drove my heart out, clawing my way from last to fifth. Then, while attempting to pass for fourth, I made a move late in the race that ended up spinning Sverre Isachsen (he slowed down way more than I expected). I feel absolutely terrible about the incident and in no way intended to take him out. While unfortunate for myself and my team, I completely agree with GRC’s decision and hope that my former team and Sverre can accept my apology.”



  • 1. Toomas Heikkinen (FIN) Ford Fiesta Mk7 ST
  • 2. Liam Doran (GB) MINI Countryman JCW 1.6
  • 3. Tanner Foust (USA) Ford Fiesta Mk7 ST
  • 4. Mattias Ekström (S) VW Polo Mk5
  • 5. Steve Arpin (CAN) Ford Fiesta Mk7
  • 6. Townsend Bell (USA) Ford Fiesta Mk7
  • 7. Guilherme Spinelli (BR) Mitsubishi Lancer E10
  • 8. Sverre Isachsen (N) Subaru Impreza GR
  • 9. Brian Deegan (USA) Ford Fiesta Mk7 ST
  • Excluded from event: Ken Block (USA) Ford Fiesta Mk7 ST



More photos to be found here in our Gallery.