Countdown to WRX of Spain (CEST)

11 Sep 2013

BRC/FRC: Round-up

Category: Miscellaneous, News Posted 11.09.13 12:54 by

Round 6 of the Belgian Rallycross Championship was won at Maasmechelen by Patrick Van Mechelen from Jochen Coox, while Round 8 of the French Rallycross Championship at Mayenne saw Jérôme Grosset-Janin ahead of Fabien Pailler.


BRC: Round 6 of the Belgian Rallycross Championship was held at Maasmechelen on September 8 and counted as Round 5 also for the German Rallycross Championship (DRX) series. Due to rainfalls the free and timed practice sessions on Sunday morning went over a wet and slippery track, but as soon as the qualifying heats got started the weather turned to better conditions and it remained dry for the rest of the competition.

Dutch-Italian BRC regular Jos Kuijpers did not show up at the Devils Hill this time. The Ford Focus Mk3 SuperCar campaigner lost three turbochargers in just two days and was not able to find the cause of his problems in due time prior to the event. Thereby Belgian Patrick Van Mechelen had a good portion of advantage here, as the so-far championship leader and strongest opponent in the title chase missed out this round.

Ford Fiesta Mk7 driver Van Mechelen made the pole position for the all decisive SuperCars A final his and then also ruled the last race of the day. Behind the new leader of the point standings [Van Mechelen 94 vs Kuijpers 89] Jochen Coox drove his VW Scirocco Mk3 SuperCar to second place, Koen Pauwels in the Ford Focus Mk2 finished in third position. In the path of the podium trio there was some drama when Belgian Jos Jansen and German Bernd Wilhelm made contact, with the result that homeboy Ronny Scheveneels became also involved in the following mess. All to the advantage of Dutchman Ron Snoeck, who slipped through to happily grab fourth place now.

With Dennis Remans winning the A final of the Super1600 contenders and Jos Sterkens claiming victory of the TouringCars A final the title chase for the two smaller categories is already over. Both, Remans and Sterkens have bagged enough points already and could even miss out the final round of the series, to be held on October 6 at Maasmechelen again.

  • Round 6, Belgian Rallycross Championship, Maasmechelen (B), September 8
  • 1. Patrick Van Mechelen (B) Ford Fiesta Mk7
  • 2. Jochen Coox (B) VW Scirocco Mk3
  • 3. Koen Pauwels (B) Ford Focus Mk2
  • 4. Ron Snoeck (NL) Seat Leon Mk2
  • 5. Jos Jansen (B) Ford Focus Mk3
  • 6. Ronny Scheveneels (B) VW Scirocco Mk3
  • 7. Bernd Wilhelm (D) Ford Focus Mk1
  • 1. Dennis Remans (B) Ford Fiesta Mk6
  • 2. Gerjo de Brouwer (NL) Suzuki Swift Sport RS
  • 3. Willem Veltman (NL) Citroën C2
  • 4. Dennis van Rijn (NL) Škoda Fabia Mk2
  • 5. Sven Pusch (D) Ford Fiesta Mk6
  • 6. Bart Stouten (B) Toyota Yaris Mk1
  • 7. Marcel Snoeijers (NL) Renault Mégane Mk3
  • 8. Davy Van Den Branden (B) Citroën DS3
  • 1. Jos Sterkens (B) Volvo C30/4 RWD
  • 2. Ivo Van den Brandt (B) Mitsubishi Colt CZT RWD
  • 3. Willem Slob (NL) VW Golf Mk4 RWD
  • 4. Nick Snoeys (B) Ford Fiesta Mk6 RWD


FRC: One week after the RallycrossRX round at Lohéac it was up to the French Rallycross Championship contenders to meet again at the Circuit Maurice Forget of  Châtillon-sur-Colmont near Mayenne. While in Lohéac FRC point standings leader in SuperCars Jérôme Grosset-Janin was not able to score a good result, due to his bad luck on Saturday, at Mayenne the Renault campaigner did much better. The Clio Mk3 driver bagged his fifth overall victory out of seven rounds [the Faleyras FRC round in June was cancelled] and, thereby, ensured himself his first SuperCars championship title. Currently leading the point standings with 62 points over runner-up Fabien Pailler, Grosset-Janin cannot be beaten anymore.

Fabien Pailler drove the Peugeot 208 of Pailler Compétition to second place in the A final, while veteran Rallycrosser Hervé “Knapick” Lemonnier completed the Mayenne rostrum after reaching the chequered flag in third place. In the Super1600s category Renault Twingo Mk2 driver David Olivier made overall victory his, thereby making up lost ground to point standings leader Jean-Baptiste Dubourg, who lost several positions due a puncture in only the last lap of the A final. Rallycross lady Adeline Sangnier finished in second position, fellow Citroën C2 campaigner Maximilien Eveno made it to third.

  • Round 8, French Rallycross Championship, Mayenne (F), September 8
  • 1. Jérôme Grosset-Janin (F) Renault Clio Mk3
  • 2. Fabien Pailler (F) Peugeot 208
  • 3. Hervé “Knapick” Lemonnier (F) Citroën DS3
  • 4. Jean-Claude Lemoine (F) Citroën Xsara
  • 5. Christophe Jouet (F) Peugeot 207
  • 6. Rodolphe Audran (F) Peugeot 207
  • 7. Michel Vigouroux (F) Peugeot 207
  • 8. Martial Barbette (F) Renault Mégane Mk3
  • 1. David Olivier (F) Renault Twingo Mk2
  • 2. Adeline Sangnier ♀ (F), Citroën C2
  • 3. Maximilien Eveno (F) Citroën C2
  • 4. Mickaël Martin (F) Citroën Saxo
  • 5. Fabien Chanoine (F) Dacia Sandero
  • 6. Yvonnick Jagu (F) Audi A1
  • 7. Jean-Baptiste Dubourg (F) Renault Clio Mk2
  • 8. Laurent Chartrain (F) Citroën C2
  • 1. Marc Morize (F) Peugeot 207
  • 2. Christophe Saunois (F) Toyota Corolla
  • 3. Jonathan Pailler (F) Peugeot 206
  • 4. Xavier Briffaud (F) Renault Clio Mk3
  • 5. Benoit Morel (F) Ford Fiesta Mk7
  • 6. Franck Delaunay (F) Renault Mégane Mk2
  • 7. Florent Béduneau (F) BMW MINI Cooper
  • 8. Guy Moreton (F) Citroën DS3
  • 1. Emmanuel Anne (F) Renault Clio Mk2
  • 2. Jimmy Terpereau (F) Audi A3
  • 3. Sébastien Guillemaud (F) Peugeot 306
  • 4. David Vincent (F) Renault Clio Mk3
  • 5. Guillaume Pinson (F) Renault Clio Mk3
  • 6. Tommy Terpereau (F) Honda Civic Mk7 Type-R
  • 7. Steven Lefrançois (F) Peugeot 206
  • 8. Kévin Jacquinet (F) Peugeot 207
  • 1. Cyril Raymond (F) Renault Twingo Mk2
  • 2. Aurélien Crochard (F) Renault Twingo Mk2
  • 3. Pascal Huteau (F) Renault Twingo Mk2
  • 4. Enzo Libner (F) Renault Twingo Mk2
  • 5. Tom Daunat (F) Renault Twingo Mk2
  • 6. Firmin Cadeddu (F) Renault Twingo Mk2
  • 7. Julien Anodeau (F) Renault Twingo Mk2
  • 8. Aymeric Armange (F) Renault Twingo Mk2