Countdown to WRX of Spain (CEST)

04 Mar 2014

WRX: ORECA back with Peugeot

Category: ERC, News Posted 04.03.14 20:21 by

French engine builders ORECA will be back in Rallycross to supply power units for cars of Peugeot again, like for the legendary Group B monster Peugeot 205 Turbo 16 E2.


Present for many a year in Rallycross, both on national and international level, French engine builders ORECA [for Organisation Exploitation Compétition Automobiles] will continue their work in 2014. After two consecutive ERC titles for Timur Timerzyanov with Hansen Motorsport the ORECA headquarter has now announced to continue its work for the recently founded WorldRX Team Peugeot-Hansen and its all-new Peugeot 208 SuperCars. Thereby, the company of the in Germany born founder and President Hugues de Chaunac gets involved with Rallycross machinery of the Lion’s brand once more. ORECA was the by PTS chosen engine suppliers for the 700+bhp strong Peugeot 205 Turbo 16 E2 Group B monster that was driven to overall victory in the French Rallycross Championships of 1988 by Guy Fréquelin and 1989 by Philippe Wambergue.

“Rallycross takes on a new dimension with the FIA World Championship label in 2014 and this will of course become a very important season for us,” says Serge Meyer, Director of ORECA’s engine department. “We have built a strong partnership with Hansen Motorsport, a very competitive and experienced team with strong human values. We are very happy to keep on collaborating with them and the birth of Team Peugeot-Hansen makes the challenge even more fascinating. Taking part in such a programme, with a big manufacturer’s involvement, makes us very proud. It is both, an honour as well as a great responsibility for our engine department. We are expecting a difficult championship, with serious factory efforts and very good famous drivers involved. Besides for Team Peugeot-Hansen we actually are working for some other teams in the new World Championship as well, also with high objectives in mind.”


Photo: In 1989 Philippe Wambergue claimed the FRC title with an ORECA powered Peugeot 205 Turbo 16 E2. © EL/ERC24