Countdown to WRX of Spain (CEST)

29 Jun 2012

PR: Isachsen Motorsport

Category: Press Releases Posted 29.06.12 13:13 by

European Rallycross Champion Sverre Isachsen is ready to fight against Marcus Grönholm, Travis Pastrana – and Sébastien Loeb in X Games this Sunday.


X Games in Los Angeles is also the third round of the Global RallyCross Championship and the highlight of the year for the Subaru PUMA Rallycross Team. Sverre Isachsen from Norway and his two American teammates Dave Mirra and “Bucky” Lasek are ready with their 600bhp Subaru GR Rallycross cars.

“I’m really looking forward to the X Games. I did this event for Subaru in 2010, and the track should suit me. It runs on the streets outside the Staples Center, and finally we will have some gravel to race on again,” the 42 years old Norwegian says.

Former double World Rally Champion Marcus Grönholm of Finland leads the championship after the two first rounds in Charlotte and Fort Worth. This weekend eight times World Rally Champion Sébastien Loeb of France will also take part. “Loeb’s appearance is good news for the sport of Rallycross. He is World famous, but this will be his first race in Rallycross. He doesn’t scare me.”

Isachsen, or “The Viking Warrior” to the US fans, showed some really good speed in the last race at the Texas Motor Speedway, and wants to fight for the win in Los Angeles. “We will have two important test days before X Games, but I have a good feeling. The team is great, the car is good, and I really want an X Games medal!”

X Games is called the “Olympics of extreme sports”, and has millions of viewers from all over the world. Along with sports like motocross, skate-boarding and BMX, Rallycross is one of the main attractions during the games. The schedule for the Rallycross element of X Games commences on Thursday June 28 with jumps practice at 16:00h local time, with seeding taking place on the evening of Saturday June 30 and the final at 15:30h local time on Sunday July 1.

An impressive line-up of drivers are ready with Sverre Isachsen, Dave Mirra, “Bucky” Lasek, Sébastien Loeb, Marcus Grönholm, Tanner Foust, Travis Pastrana, Ken Block, Liam Doran, Rhys Millen, Samuel Hübinette and others.


Photo: Triple ERC winner Sverre Isachsen is set for his X Games assault. © Gange/Subaru/ERC24