Countdown to WRX of Spain (CEST)

19 Sep 2012

Van Mechelen wins Maasmechelen

Category: Miscellaneous, News Posted 19.09.12 15:13 by

Patrick Van Mechelen, who has already decided that his Subaru is not a winning car any longer, drove the Impreza GD to victory over Jos Kuijpers at Maasmechelen.


It was not long ago that Belgian Subaru campaigner for many a year, Patrick Van Mechelen, broke up with his long time companion and decided to buy the current Ford Fiesta Mk7 SuperCar of Dutch-Italian Jos Kuijpers. While Van Mechelen claimed his Scooby of not being fast enough to bag victories with any longer, Kuijpers is keen to have a new Focus Mk3 instead of the by him unloved Fiesta. However, last Sunday the Belgian was able to use his “farewell car” to claim victory in the penultimate round of the Belgian Rallycross Championship by beating the Ford driver in the very car he is set to drive in 2013. Third and fourth place were grabbed by the VW Scirocco pair Jochen Coox and Ronny Scheveneels, the later also not in love with his Mk3 Scirocco any longer and in negotiations with Pailler Compétition to drive a Peugeot 207 next year.

Victory of the Super1600s category was bagged by Dennis Remans after battling it out with championship leader Davy Van Den Branden. While the Ford driver powered his Fiesta Mk6 towards his first victory the Citroën campaigner found his C2 stuck in the sandtrap beside the track. The TouringCar laurels were picked by Koen Pauwels in his Ford Fiesta Mk7, runner-up became Rallycross lady Mandy Kasse in another Series-7 Fiesta. ERC regular Michaël De Keersmaecker was back in the SuperNationals class to drive a vintage Volvo 240 to victory of the +2000 class. The -2000 SuperNationals category fell prey to Pedro Cokelaere and his Honda Civic EK4, another car that is seemingly aging very well.


  • 1. Patrick Van Mechelen (B) Subaru Impreza GD
  • 2. Jos Kuijpers (I) Ford Fiesta Mk7
  • 3. Jochen Coox (B) VW Scirocco Mk3
  • 4. Ronny Scheveneels (B) VW Scirocco Mk3
  • 5. Jan van Loon (NL) Ford Fiesta Mk7
  • 6. Marcel Ottink (NL) Škoda Fabia Mk2
  • 7. Ron Snoeck (NL) Seat Leon Mk2
  • 8. Jos Jansen (B) Ford Focus Mk3
  • 1. Dennis Remans (B) Ford Fiesta Mk6
  • 2. Bart Stouten (B) Toyota Yaris Mk1
  • 3. Dave Van Beers (B) Renault Clio Mk2
  • 4. Peter van de Wege (NL) Toyota Yaris Mk1
  • 5. Willem Veltman (NL) Citroën C2
  • 6. Davy Van Den Branden (B) Citroën C2
  • 7. Marcel Snoeijers (NL) Renault Clio Mk2
  • 8. Thijs Heezen (NL) Ford Fiesta Mk6
  • 1. Koen Pauwels (B) Ford Fiesta Mk7
  • 2. Mandy Kasse (NL) Ford Fiesta Mk7
  • 3. Ivo Van den Brandt (B) Mitsubishi Colt CZT
  • 4. Christ Moelands (NL) BMW 1 E87
  • 5. Pedro Bonnet (B) Volvo C30
  • 6. Nick Snoeys (NL) Ford Fiesta Mk6
  • 1. Michaël De Keersmaecker (B) Volvo 240
  • 2. Kristof Bex (B) Volvo S40 Mk1
  • 3. Luc Maris (B) Volvo S40 Mk2
  • 4. Steven Maris (B) Volvo 240
  • 5. Filip Baelus (B) Volvo C30
  • 6. David Vannijlen (B) Volvo 240
  • 7. Mikael Eriksson (S) Porsche 911 GT3
  • 8. Danny De Beuckelaer (B) Opel Corsa B
  • 1. Pedro Cokelaere (B) Honda Civic EK4
  • 2. Steven Stessens (B) Opel Corsa B
  • 3. Christoph Chalmet (B) Honda Civic Mk7 Type-R
  • 4. Kurt Lambers (B) Ford Sierra Cosworth 2.0
  • 5. Mike Lunenburg (NL) Alfa Romeo 145
  • 6. Patrick De Decker (B) Rover MG ZR
  • 7. André Geebelen (B) Peugeot 206