Countdown to WRX of Spain (CEST)

08 Mar 2013

Hansen into politics

Category: ERC, News Posted 08.03.13 19:31 by

The most successful Rallycross driver in history, Swedish record ERC title winner Kenneth Hansen, has been nominated to represent our motorsport in the Drivers’ Commission of the FIA.


During today’s FIA World Motor Sport Council meeting at Geneva 14-times European Rallycross Champion Kenneth Hansen was nominated for the new Drivers’ Commission as the representative of the motorsport of Rallycross (covered under ‘Other disciplines’).

Following a mandate from the 2012 General Assembly, the WMSC confirmed the composition of the Drivers’ Commission. Under the Presidency of Emerson Fittipaldi (Brazil) and his Vice-President Sébastien Loeb (France), the rights and interests of drivers across the disciplines will be represented by currently another 12 members, including Kenneth Hansen (Sweden) and Marcus Grönholm (Finland), after his retirement from the World Rally Championship a keen Rallycrosser himself.

The nomination of Hansen is subject to the agreement of his ASN Svenska Bilsportförbundet (SBF). “It is a great honour to be part of the Drivers’ Commission and I am looking forward to it. I’m still not completely sure what it means work wise, but in this company of drivers I will surely enjoy myself”, commented the Swede later on.


Photo: Frenchman Sébastien Loeb, Swede Kenneth Hansen and Finn Marcus Grönholm, here pictured in Los Angeles during the 2012 X Games, have concentrated Rally and Rallycross knowledge on offer. © QBA/ERC24