Countdown to WRX of Spain (CEST)

18 Apr 2013

NLRC: PVM victorious

Category: Miscellaneous, News Posted 18.04.13 16:13 by

The Dutch Rallycross Championship (NLRC) kick-off at Valkenswaard was also the 3rd Round of the Belgian Rallycross Championship (BRC) and eventually won by guest Patrick Van Mechelen from householder Jos Kuijpers.


If you expect us to write a story about a single driver when it comes to the 2013 NLRC opener at Valkenswaard, counting also as Round 3 for the 2013 BRC, we may let you down. But if you are interested in many others of the 100+ drivers competing at the Eurocircuit last Sunday you are right with us.

The change from his former Subaru Impreza to the ex-Jos Kuijpers Ford Fiesta Mk7 is bearing fruit for Patrick Van Mechelen. The son of ex-Rallycrosser Camille Van Mechelen has become the driver to beat in BRC and NLRC rounds. At Valkenswaard “PVM” drove his Fiesta to the fastest times in both the first and second qualifying heat, thereby he ensured himself early the pole position for the A final. Nevertheless, in the third runs the Ford campaigner started once again, but kept calm to take not too much risk for his 560bhp SuperCar. Here it was Koen Pauwels who made good use of the ex-Andy Scott Ford Focus Mk2 and set the fastest time, leaving Jos Kuijpers in the new Ford Focus of the third generation behind.

When the GO for the last race of the day let the wild bunch going free it was that Dutch-Italian Jos Kuijpers who surprised Van Mechelen and Pauwels with a great start. “Giuseppe” took an early lead ahead of two Belgians, Ron Snoeck, Ronny Scheveneels and Marcel Ottink. However, after just half a lap Kuijpers overkooked his soup, made a mistake at the end of “Blomqvist Street” and was immediately passed by Patrick Van Mechelen. The Belgian took control over the ongoings till the chequered flag was dropped, scoring a fine victory from Kuijpers and Pauwels. “This is the reason we’ve swapped from the Impreza to the Fiesta. After some things we have changed to the car this victory is the perfect result”, stated the happy winner later on. While his two compatriots Jos Jansen and Ronny Scheveneels had to throw in their towels before the race was over the two Dutchmen Marcel Ottink and Ron Snoeck became fourth and fifth respectively.

In the Super1600 category Valkenswaard saw a great event driven by Peter van de Wege in his Toyota Yaris Mk1. The youngest brother of former Dutch Rallycrosser Bram van de Wege claimed the fastest times of both, the first and the second qualification runs, ensuring himself the A final pole as early as possible. Not in need of another time the man from the Dutch province Zeeland used his third heat to practice the Joker Lap section as often as possible. “As the track extension is blocked during the practice sessions I here drove it no less than four times to find out where to gain some little extra time”, explained the Toyota campaigner his doings.

Van de Wege’s A final start was not perfect, but he was nevertheless able to take the lead from Belgian Renault Clio Mk2 driver Dave Van Beers. When the Toyota driver did his Joker Lap the Renault man found himself in front of the field, but just for a single lap. After Van Beers had played his own Joker he was back to second again, eventually becoming the runner-up to happy Van de Wege. Mike Louring Frederiksen, a Danish guest driver in Holland, drove his Peugeot 206 to third place.

Mandy Kasse, daughter of 1995 FIA European 1400 Cup winner Ko Kasse, seemed to be on her way to win the TouringCars class, but had to retire from the lead due to technical problems with her rear-wheel driven Ford Fiesta Mk7. All to the advantage of Belgian Rallycross long-runner Jos Sterkens in the Volvo C30/4 RWD who picked the TouringCar laurels this time. Second became Mandy Kasse’s boyfriend Nick Snoeys, who had seriously crashed his Ford Fiesta Mk6 during the third runnings, while third place fell prey to Belgian Filip Baelus who debuted the Volvo C30/4 he bought from Pedro Bonnet some weeks ago.

The SuperNationals +2000 A final witnessed a heavy crash from Belgian Filip Vanderheyden in the Volvo S40 Mk2 and, therefore, was re-started. Here it was Kristof Bex who bagged overall victory, leaving second and third place to Steven Maris and Davy Leysen respectively. In SuperNationals Belgian Pedro Cokelaere scored another win with his vintage Honda Civic EK4, Johan Kwinten and Steven Stessens were the two others to conquer the Eurocircuit podium.


  • 1. Patrick Van Mechelen (B) Ford Fiesta Mk7
  • 2. Jos Kuijpers (I) Ford Focus Mk3
  • 3. Koen Pauwels (B) Ford Focus Mk2
  • 4. Marcel Ottink (NL) Škoda Fabia Mk2
  • 5. Ron Snoeck (NL) Seat Leon Mk2
  • 6. Jos Jansen (B) Ford Focus Mk3
  • 7. Ronny Scheveneels (B) VW Scirocco Mk3
  • 1. Peter van de Wege (NL) Toyota Yaris Mk1
  • 2. Dave Van Beers (B) Renault Clio Mk2
  • 3. Mike Louring Frederiksen (DK) Peugeot 206
  • 4. Gerjo de Brouwer (NL) Suzuki Swift Sport RS
  • 5. Marcel Snoeijers (NL) Renault Mégane Mk3
  • 6. Thijs Heezen (NL) Ford Fiesta Mk7
  • 7. Davy Van Den Branden (B) Citroën DS3
  • 8. Dennis Remans (B) Ford Fiesta Mk6
  • 1. Jos Sterkens (B) Volvo C30/4 RWD
  • 2. Nick Snoeys (B) Ford Fiesta Mk6 RWD
  • 3. Filip Baelus (B) Volvo C30/4 RWD
  • 4. Mandy Kasse (NL) Ford Fiesta Mk7 RWD
  • 5. Willem Slob (NL) VW Golf Mk4 RWD
  • 6. Ivo Van den Brandt (B) Mitsubishi Colt CZT RWD
  • 1. Kristof Bex (B) Volvo S40 Mk1
  • 2. Steven Maris (B) Volvo 240
  • 3. Davy Leysen (B), BMW E36
  • 4. Ludo Vangeneugden (B) Volvo 240
  • 5. David Vannijlen (B) Volvo 240
  • 6. Henri Vangeneugden (B) Volvo 242
  • 7. Peter Thijs (B) BMW E36 Coupé
  • 8. Filip Vanderheyden (B) Volvo S40 Mk2
  • 1. Pedro Cokelaere (B) Honda Civic EK4
  • 2. Johan Kwinten (NL) BMW E30
  • 3. Steven Stessens (B) Vauxhall Corsa B
  • 4. Marc Vandenbergh (B) Seat Ibiza Mk2
  • 5. Marc Vleeschouwers (B) Toyota Corolla
  • 6. Tom Meeusen (B) Mitsubishi Lancer
  • 7. André Geebelen (B) Peugeot 206
  • 8. Martijn Vanhove (B) Toyota MR2 Mk1