Countdown to WRX of Spain (CEST)

20 Apr 2013

GRC: X Games Brazil opened

Category: GRC, News Posted 20.04.13 12:58 by

The X Games in the Brazilian town of Foz do Iguaçu have been opened on April 18 and mark the first full Summer X Games in its history to be held outside the United States of America.


X Games is an annual sports event, controlled and arranged by US-based sports broadcaster ESPN, focusing on many different action sports. The inaugural X Games were held in the Summer of 1995 in the US state of Rhode Island. Participants compete to win bronze, silver and gold medals as well as prize money.

X Games 12, held in August of 2006 in Los Angeles, featured car racing for the first time. American action all-rounder Travis Pastrana was able to beat the late WRC star Colin McRae in a ‘Rally Super Special’ shoot-out, after the Scotsman had crashed his car with only two corners to go. The so-called Rally competition was in 2010 (X Games 16) replaced by RallyCross racing, by then tagged as ‘Rally Car Racing’ and ‘Rally Car SuperRally’. Both competitions were claimed by American Tanner Foust.

In 2011 (X Games 17) Briton Liam Doran won the ‘Rally Car Racing’ gold medal while the ‘RallyCross’ victory fell prey to American Brian Deegan. The 2012 X Games (18) attracted even the by then 8-times World Rally Champion Sébastien Loeb from France who drove an almost 600bhp strong Citroën DS3 Rallycross SuperCar of the Swedish Hansen Motorsport team to a great victory in the Finale of its RallyCross event.

Starting in 2013 X Games expanded to a total of six full competitions hosted around the world, hence Global X Games now. The Summer X Games have become a full international affair, since the running season has been opened with a four day event in the three borders (Brazil, Paraguay, Argentina) town of Foz do Iguaçu in Brazil. Please note that Foz is 5 hours behind Central European Summer Time (CEST = UTC+02:00) and that information from Brazil will be delayed for European readers.

ERC24 crew member Polish globe-trotter Qba Nitka is at the venue to take pictures for you. So far he caught the 15 invited drivers (see list) in action during their practice sessions (see link to our Gallery below). There was no official time-keeping yet, but it was claimed by “the usual time-spotters” that Ken Block, Anton Marklund and Tanner Foust have been the Top 3 drivers so far. More free and timed practice runs are due to follow later on today, while the main competition for the three X Games RallyCross medals will take place tomorrow, April 21.

Qba informed us also that the Brazilian organisers have signed a contract to run the X Games for a minimum of three years at Foz do Iguaçu. This year’s track has been built within a very short period of time, consisting of a rather difficult clay/silt surface, producing huge dust problems. But when wet the soil becomes very slippery, therefore watering is said to be no good solution either. Only the start/finish straight of the circuit has got its surface sealed by a layer of concrete. The temporary grandstand offers space for 7,000 spectators.


  • Eduardo Marques Jr. (BR) Peugeot 207
  • Nelson Piquet Jr. (BR) Mitubishi Lancer E10
  • Mauricio Neves (BR) Peugeot 207
  • Patrik Sandell (S) Ford Fiesta Mk7 ST
  • Buddy Rice (USA) VW Polo Mk5
  • Steve Arpin (CDN) Ford Fiesta Mk7
  • Liam Doran (GB) Citroën DS3
  • Tanner Foust (USA) Ford Fiesta Mk7 ST
  • Brian Deegan (USA) Ford Fiesta Mk7 ST
  • Ken Block (USA) Ford Fiesta Mk7 ST
  • Toomas Heikkinen (FIN) Ford Fiesta Mk7 ST
  • Scott Speed (USA) Ford Fiesta Mk7
  • Anton Marklund (S) VW Polo Mk5
  • Bryce Menzies (USA) Dodge Dart
  • Travis Pastrana (USA) Dodge Dart


More images of ERC24 snapper Qba to be found here.


Tanner Foust shows the track.


Topi Heikkinen’s Day 1 video.


Topi Heikkinen’s way to Brazil.