Countdown to WRX of Spain (CEST)

25 Jul 2013

CEZ/BRC: Round-up

Category: Miscellaneous, News Posted 25.07.13 19:50 by

Round 4 of the CEZ series was held at Sedlčany and counted also for the Austrian Rallycross Championship, while Round 5 of the Belgian Rallycross Championship at Maasmechelen did count for the British Rallycross series too.


BRC: After doing no less than three Belgian Rallycross Championship rounds in foreign countries (Lydden Hill in England, Valkenswaard in Holland and Essay in France) Round 5 of the BRC was held at the native Duivelsbergcircuit in Maasmechelen. The British Rallycross Championship contenders were also in Belgium for a return visit and to compete in Round 5 of their own series.

While Briton Julian Godfrey had claimed the pole position for the A final it was Dutch-Italian Jos Kuijpers who shot from the third row of the grid right into the lead of the last race of the day. His launch was so impressive that many eye-witnesses felt it would have been a clear jump start. However, the start was not questioned and once in the lead the Ford driver powered his Focus Mk3 towards a never disputed victory. Engine wizard Godfrey finished second and Belgian Patrick Van Mechelen reached the chequered flag in third place.

The Super1600s rostrum was fully taken by Belgian drivers, Dennis Remans here winning from runner-up Davy Van Den Branden and Dave Van Beers. Belgian veteran Rallycrosser Jos Sterkens hurled his rear-wheel driven Volvo C30 to another victory in TouringCars, his fellow-countryman Nick Snoeys claiming second place, while Nick’s Dutch girlfriend Mandy Kasse finished third overall.

In the SuperNationals +2000 class it was Volvo S40 Mk1 driver Kristof Bex who run away with victory, followed by Steven Maris in his 2-doors Volvo 240 and Steve Volders in his beloved XXL Ford Escort Mk1. In the SuperNationals -2000 category the Duivelsberg laurels were picked by Pedro Cokelaere, Marc Vandenbergh and Johan Kwinten scoring second and third place respectively.

  • Round 5, Belgian Rallycross Championship, Maassmechelen (B), July 21
  • 1. Jos Kuijpers (I) Ford Focus Mk3
  • 2. Julian Godfrey (GB) Ford Fiesta Mk6
  • 3. Patrick Van Mechelen (B) Ford Fiesta Mk7
  • 4. Koen Pauwels (B) Ford Focus Mk2
  • 5. Pat Doran (GB) Citroën DS3
  • 6. Jos Jansen (B) Ford Focus Mk3
  • 7. Kevin Procter (GB) Ford Focus Mk2
  • 8. Ron Snoeck (NL) Seat Leon Mk2
  • 1. Dennis Remans (B) Ford Fiesta Mk6
  • 2. Davy Van Den Branden (B) Citroën DS3
  • 3. Dave Van Beers (B) Renault Clio Mk2
  • 4. Gerjo de Brouwer (NL) Suzuki Swift Sport RS
  • 5. Willem Veltman (NL) Citroën C2
  • 6. Marcel Snoeijers (NL) Renault Mégane Mk3
  • 7. Bart Bel (NL) Citroën C2
  • 8. Chris Mullen (GB) Suzuki Swift Sport RS
  • 1. Jos Sterkens (B) Volvo C30/4 RWD
  • 2. Nick Snoeys (B) Ford Fiesta Mk6 RWD
  • 3. Mandy Kasse ♀ (NL) Ford Fiesta Mk7 RWD
  • 1. Kristof Bex (B) Volvo S40 Mk1
  • 2. Steven Maris (B) Volvo 240
  • 3. Steve Volders (B) Ford Escort Mk1
  • 4. David Vannijlen (B) Volvo 240
  • 5. Ludo Vangeneugden (B) Volvo 240
  • 6. Davy Leysen (B) BMW E36
  • 7. Frans De Wit (B) BMW E36 Compact
  • 8. Henri Vangeneugden (B) Volvo 240
  • 1. Pedro Cokelaere (B) Honda Civic EK4
  • 2. Marc Vandenbergh (B) Seat Ibiza Mk2
  • 3. Johan Kwinten (NL) BMW E30 Coupé
  • 4. Steven Stessens (B) Vauxhall Nova
  • 5. Jef Mertens (B) Opel Astra F
  • 6. Martijn Vanhove (B) Toyota MR2 Mk1
  • 7. Rocky Slachmuylders (B) Peugeot 205
  • 8. Yves Moonen (B) Opel Kadett D


CEZ: The Autodrom Sedlčany in the Czech Republic, formerly known as Sedlčanská Kotlina and host of the Czech ERC rounds of the years 1999 and 2003, during last weekend was the venue of the 4th round of the FIA Central European Zone Rallycross Championship (CEZ). Beside that the event counted also for the native Czech Rallycross Championship (CZRC; Round 4) as well as for the Austrian Rallycross Championship (ARC; Round 4).

Reigning champion of all three series, Austrian Ford Focus Mk1 campaigner Alois Höller, made good use of his 500bhp strong SuperCar. Höller set the fastest times in official practice as well as the first and third qualifying heats, thereby claiming the pole position for the all decisive A final. Here he produced a perfect start that paved him the way to another overall victory, ahead of his compatriot Tristan Ekker and a guest starter from the Czech Autocross scene, Rostislav Hilse. After his Seat Leon Mk1 SuperCar became hampered by a broken drive-shaft Austrian championship leader Peter Ramler eventually finished fourth overall, thereby allowing Höller to close up in the ARC point standings.

In the Super1600s class there was no-one to stop Austrian Klaus Freudenthaler from claiming another overall victory. Czech Rallycross lady Michaela Kalná made it to second place, while Austrian Erwin Frieszl lost his almost safe third place in sight of the chequered flag. The right rear suspension of his Peugeot 208 called it a day, forcing its driver into a spin. The SuperNational category fell prey to Czech Roman Častoral and his Opel Astra, runner-up became Austrian Mercedes C230 driver Gerald Woldrich and Czech Karol Šedivý finished his Seat Ibiza in third place.

  • Round 4, CEZ Rallycross Championship,  Sedlčany (CZ), June 20–21
  • 1. Alois Höller (A) Ford Focus Mk1
  • 2. Tristan Ekker (A) VW Polo Mk4/9N
  • 3. Rostislav Hilse (CZ) Subaru Impreza GC
  • 4. Peter Ramler (A) Seat Leon Mk1
  • 5. Matthias Schörgenhofer (A) VW Golf Mk5
  • 6. Zoltán Harsányi (H) Mitsubishi Lancer E5
  • 1. Klaus Freudenthaler (A) Škoda Fabia Mk1
  • 2. Michaela Kalná ♀ (CZ) Peugeot 206
  • 3. Szabolcs Végh (H) Citroën Saxo
  • 4. Ádám Újházi (H) Opel Astra G
  • 5. Erwin Frieszl (A) Peugeot 208
  • 6. Peter Miklušák (CZ) VW Polo Mk3/6N2
  • 1. Roman Častoral (CZ) Opel Astra G
  • 2. Gerald Woldrich (A) Mercedes C230
  • 3. Karol Šedivý (SK) Seat Ibiza Mk2
  • 4. Jakub Bittman (CZ) Peugeot 206
  • 5. Karel Václavík(CZ) VW Golf Mk3
  • 6. “Luigi” (H) Seat Ibiza Mk2