Countdown to WRX of Spain (CEST)

30 Jul 2013

RCE/FRC: Round-up

Category: Miscellaneous, News Posted 30.07.13 18:57 by

Frenchman Fabien Pailler (Peugeot 208) won the Kerlabo RCE/FRC round from his father Jean-Luc Pailler in a Peugeot 207, while Belgian Patrick Van Mechelen drove his Ford Fiesta Mk7 to fifth place and the lead of the RCE standings.


After claiming the second place in the previous French Rallycross Championship round at Lessay that man Fabien Pailler was highly motivated at Kerlabo to prove the potential of Pailler Compétition’s all-new Peugeot 208. By claiming twice a fastest heat time in qualification the offspring of 1993 European champion Jean-Luc Pailler ensured himself the pole position for the mixed FRC and RCE A final.

The start of the last race of the weekend was won by his father, but it didn’t take Fabien too long before being able to pass his dad. Once in the lead Pailler Junior drove his 550+bhp SuperCar to a no more challenged overall victory, the first one with the new 208 machinery. JLP finished as runner-up, but did not get points for his native French series, as he had not registered for this year’s FRC. However, Pailler Senior scored the full 20 points for winning the Rallycross Challenge Europe event, thereby he is currently holding third position in the RCE point standings.

Belgian Patrick Van Mechelen drove his ex-Kuijpers Ford Fiesta Mk7 to a fine fifth place behind the two Frenchmen Jean Juin and Hervé “Knapick”. Thereby he claimed the lead in the Challenge SuperCars point standings from Pavel Koutný, the Czech not making it into the A final this time. Briton Kevin Procter scored the sixth place at Kerlabo, therefore getting the points for the third place of the RCE contenders.

The Super1600s category was ruled by French drivers on Brittany soil, Laurent Chartrain winning from Fabien Chanoine and David Olivier. The highest placed non-French driver was Stanislav Šusta in fifth place, the Czech thereby extending his lead in the RCE S1600 series. In the TouringCars class it was a different situation, no French drivers involved in the event and only foreigners taking the winners podium. Belgian Jos Sterkens won the final event from his compatriot and make colleague Filip Baelus to underline his leadership in the Challenge for competitors with rear-wheel driven vehicles.


  • 1. Fabien Pailler (F) Peugeot 208
  • 2. Jean-Luc Pailler (F) Peugeot 207
  • 3. Jean Juin (F) Peugeot 207
  • 4. Hervé “Knapick” (F) Citroën DS3
  • 5. Patrick Van Mechelen (B) Ford Fiesta Mk7
  • 6. Kevin Procter (GB) Ford Focus Mk2
  • 7. Marcel Ottink (NL) Škoda Fabia Mk2
  • 8. Jérôme Grosset-Janin (F) Renault Clio Mk3
  • 1. Laurent Chartrain (F) Citroën C2
  • 2. Fabien Chanoine (F) Dacia Sandero
  • 3. David Olivier (F) Renault Twingo Mk2
  • 4. Mickaël Martin (F) Citroën Saxo
  • 5. Stanislav Šusta (CZ) Škoda Fabia Mk2
  • 6. Pavel Vimmer (CZ) Škoda Fabia Mk1
  • 7. Yvonnick Jagu (F) Audi A1
  • 8. Eric Guillemette (F) Renault Clio Mk2
  • 1. Jos Sterkens (B) Volvo C30/4 RWD
  • 2. Filip Baelus (B) Volvo C30/4 RWD
  • 3. Ivo Van den Brandt (B) Mitsubishi Colt CZT RWD
  • 4. Helmut Rössl (A) Škoda Fabia Mk1 RWD
  • 5. Louis de Haas (NL) Opel Astra G RWD
  • 6. Nick Snoeys (B) Ford Fiesta Mk6 RWD
  • 1. Christophe Saunois (F) Toyota Corolla
  • 2. Marc Morize (F) Peugeot 207
  • 3. Florent Béduneau (F) MINI Cooper
  • 4. Xavier Briffaud (F) Renault Clio Mk3
  • 5. Jonathan Pailler (F) Peugeot 206
  • 6. Benoit Morel (F) Ford Fiesta Mk7
  • 7. Stéphane Dréan (F) Renault Clio Mk3
  • 8. Guy Moreton (F) Citroën DS3
  • 1. Sébastien Le Ferrand (F) Peugeot 306 S16
  • 2. Kévin Jacquinet (F) Peugeot 207
  • 3. Jessica Anne-Tarrière ♀ (F) Renault Clio Mk2
  • 4. Jimmy Terpereau (F) Audi A3
  • 5. Steven Lefrançois (F) Peugeot 206
  • 6. Christophe Barbier (F) Peugeot 206
  • 7. Yoann Tirel (F) Peugeot 306 S16
  • 8. Steven Le Lann (F) Peugeot 306 S16
  • 1. Fabien Grosset-Janin (F) Renault Twingo Mk2
  • 2. Tom Daunat (F) Renault Twingo Mk2
  • 3. Cyril Raymond (F) Renault Twingo Mk2
  • 4. Pascal Huteau (F) Renault Twingo Mk2
  • 5. Aurélien Crochard (F) Renault Clio Mk2
  • 6. Julien Anodeau (F) Renault Clio Mk2
  • 7. Alexis Breda (F) Renault Clio Mk2