Countdown to WRX of Spain (CEST)

04 Dec 2013

RX: 2014 dates approved

Category: ERC, News Posted 04.12.13 15:07 by

Today’s FIA World Motor Sport Council in Paris has confirmed the calendar for the all-new 2014 World Rallycross Championship, including events in Canada (North America), Turkey (Asia) and Argentina (South America).


According to news of Norges Bilsportforbund (NBF), the Norwegian ASN, the FIA World Motor Sport Council (WMSC) of today has approved in Paris the 12 dates of the 2014 World Rallycross Championship.


  • 03.–04.05. Montalegre (Portugal)
  • 24.–25.05. Lydden Hill (Great Britain) *
  • 14.–15.06. Hell (Norway) *
  • 28.–29.06. Kouvola (Finland)
  • 05.–06.07. Höljes (Sweden)
  • 12.–13.07. Mettet (Belgium) */**
  • 07.–08.08. Trois-Rivières (Canada) **
  • 06.–07.09. Lohéac (France)
  • 20.–21.09. Buxtehude (Germany) *
  • 27.–28.09. Franciacorta (Italy) */**
  • 11.–12.10. Istanbul Park (Turkey) **
  • 22.–23.11. Córdoba o Misiones TBC (Argentina) **
  • * = Counting also for the 2014 European Rallycross Championship for SuperCar drivers.
  • ** = Subject to FIA homologation for Rallycross circuits.
  • All 9 rounds in Europe count for the Super1600 and TouringCar European Rallycross Championships.


More info to follow as soon as available. Stay tuned!





Following on-going discussions with the promoter, the WMSC is pleased to confirm the creation of the FIA’s sixth World Championship, the FIA World Rallycross Championship. This fast, competitive and spectacular youth-orientated Championship will be for Supercar drivers and teams and will be contested over 12 events around the world. The Sporting Regulations and calendar for 2014 were approved as follows:

03-04/05 PRT Montalegre
24-25/05 GBR Lydden Hill *
14-15/06 NOR Hell-Lånke *
28-29/06 FIN Kouvola
05-06/07 SWE Höljes
12-13/07 BEL Mettet */**
07-08/08 CDN Trois-Rivières **
06-07/09 FRA Lohéac
20-21/09 DEU Buxtehude *
27-28/09 ITA Franciacorta */**
11-12/10 TUR Istanbul Park **
22-23/11 ARG TBA **

Reserve competition: Greinbach (AUT)

* Competitions counting towards the FIA European Rallycross SuperCar Championship (all European competitions to count towards the FIA European Rallycross Championships for Super1600 and TouringCar)
** Subject to circuit (re-)homologation

From January 2014, a new scale of points will be adopted for the qualifying heats in the FIA European Rallycross Championship, with the top drivers receiving more points than those behind. The same scale of points – which serve to establish the intermediate classification at the end of the qualifying heats and to designate the drivers who can reach the final phase – will also be adopted in the FIA World Rallycross Championship. And, to increase the value of winning the Final, eight Championship points will be awarded instead of six.

In both the European and World Championships, the number of engine seals per driver in any one season is set at three. A penalty of 15 Championship points will be imposed on the driver for each additional engine seal.


Photo: After four decades of racing all over Europe the motorsport of Rallycross gets a World series in 2014. © JKR/ERC24