Countdown to WRX of Spain (CEST)

06 Jun 2016

GRC: Sandell takes Dallas victory

Category: GRC, News Posted 06.06.16 12:09 by

Patrik Sandell wins the third round of the 2016 Global Rallycross championship in Dallas, finishing ahead of Steve Arpin and  Tanner Foust.

Bryan Herta Rallysport driver Patrik Sandell drove to a thrid round victory at Red Bull Global Rallycross Dallas. Sandell became the first driver to break points leader Tanner Foust and Volkswagen Andretti Rallycross’ dominance by jumping out to the lead from the second row in the final and never looking back.

Sandell takes third round GRC win in Dallas. © RedBull/


“I wouldn’t say it was easy, but they lined the cars up so I had a straight shot between the two front row cars,” Sandell said. “Mentally, I was just focusing on that spot. I never saw those two Volkswagens for 10 laps, and I’m pretty happy with that!”

While Foust continued his dominance during the race’s early stages by winning pole position, both of his heats, and his semi-final; Sandell would have to come from a third-place semi-final run. Sandell grabbed an early lead, with Steve Arpin taking second and the Volkswagen duo of Scott Speed and Foust following in third and fourth. Foust took the Joker Lap to reclaim third, but despite going wide in the dirt and making bumper-to-bumper contact, he couldn’t get past Arpin for second as Sandell extended his lead to cross the line.

Tanner Foust flying in Dallas, but couldn’t stop Sandell steal. © RedBull/


In the GRC Lites, defending series champion Oliver Eriksson became the series’ third winner in three races after he passed polesitter Tanner Whitten for the lead on the fifth lap of the main event. Rookie Cabot Bigham also got past to take his second consecutive runner-up finish and become the new Lites points leader, with Whitten holding on for third in only his first start of the year.

Red Bull Global Rallycross Dallas Results:

1. Patrik Sandell #18 Bryan Herta Rallysport // Ford Fiesta ST
2. Steve Arpin #00 Chip Ganassi Racing // Ford Fiesta ST
3. Tanner Foust #34 Volkswagen Andretti // Rallycross Beetle
4. Scott Speed #41 Volkswagen Andretti // Rallycross Beetle
5. Joni Wiman #31 Honda Red Bull // Olsbergs MSE Civic Coupe
6. Austin Dyne #14 AD Racing // Ford Fiesta ST
7. Brian Deegan #38 Chip Ganassi Racing // Ford Fiesta ST
8. Rhys Millen #67 Rhys Millen Racing // Hyundai Veloster
9. Jeff Ward #07 SH Rallycross/DRR // Ford Fiesta ST
10. Sebastian Eriksson #93 Honda Red Bull Olsbergs MSE // Civic Coupe

The Red Bull Global Rallycross season resumes in two weeks with a doubleheader event at Daytona International Speedway on June 18-19.