Countdown to WRX of Spain (CEST)

13 Jun 2016

ERX: Gehrman & Bryntesson win

Category: ERX, News, RXLites Posted 13.06.16 18:50 by

Last weekend saw TouringCar drivers compete for the second round of their championship with the RX Lites Cup drivers competing for their fourth round. Both Gehrman and Bryntesson took their respective events in Hell at the Lankebanen.

Philip Gehrman took victory in the second round of the 2016 European Rallycross Championship’s TouringCar class. The Swedish competitor took the round in Hell having reached the final through a successful qualifying campaign; eventually taking the round in a start-to-finish final race victory.

After four qualifying rounds, in fact it was Anders Bråten who led into the semi-finals with TQ classification. In the first semi-final Bråten and Gehrman started on the front row. The Swede eventually crossed the line triumphant, with Bråten finishing second and Ben-Philip Gundersen third as the remaining qualifier for the final.

In the second semi-final Magda Andersson, who qualified as fourth fastest, shot into the lead off the line immediately, but was later forced to retire with mechanical failures. The eventual outcome saw Norwegian Per Magne Røyrås cross the line with victorious with Fredrik Magnussen and Daniel Lundh finishing second and third respectively.

The final saw Gehrman reach turn one ahead of Bråten and Gundersen. The Swede was able to hold his nerve and eventually score a start-to-finish victory. Bråten was forced to retire, whilst home drivers Røyrås and Magnussen joined the following pack; crossing the line to join the Swede on the podium.\

Rallycross of Norway TC Result:

1. Philip GEHRMAN
2. Per-Magne ROYRAS
3. Fredrik R. Magnussen


The RX Lites Cup, competing for the fourth round of the 2016 championship in Hell, saw a fierce battle between Thomas Bryntesson and Cyril Raymond take place.

Raymond had been the man to beat having won qualifying with fastest times in Q2, Q3 and Q4.

After qualifying, semi-final one saw Raymond win from Tejas Hirani and Henrik M. Krogstad, with Byntesson taking semi-final two from Simon Olofsson and the Norwegain Joachim Hvaal.

Raymond got off to best start when the lights flashed green for the RX Lites final. An early joker-lap from Bryntesson eventually saw the Norwegian progress up to second by the end of the fourth lap. A combination of hard racing and a poor joker-lap by Raymond, eventually saw Bryntesson take the lead, as the Norwegian guided his RX Lites car across the Hell finish line ahead of Cyril Raymond and Simon Olofsson.

Rallycross of Norway RX Lites Cup Result:

1. Thomas Bryntesson
2. Cyril Raymond
3. Simon Olofsson


Both championships return during the first weekend of July at the legendary Holjes circuit in Sweden.