Countdown to WRX of Spain (CEST)

12 Aug 2012

All pole positions gone

Category: ERC, News Posted 12.08.12 12:27 by

After two Qualifying Heats the Pole Positions of all four car categories have been secured already, Timerzyanov, Wiman, Larsson and Cadeddu on top of their classes.

It was that man again – Timur Timerzyanov once more set the fastest time in the second qualifying heat and will start the SuperCar A final from pole position. Timerzyanov has already made his mark in this weekend’s competition and we now wait for the results of the third heat to see which drivers will have the opportunity to challenge him. Tanner Foust has looked strong, marginally slower than the Russian, but the American is so far the only driver to look as if he could threaten Timerzyanov’s dominance. Foust was left out of racing yesterday due to engine troubles, but has successfully fought back after a rather low seeding position yesterday.

Action came in the last race of the heat. Alexander Hvaal and Liam Doran made fairly heavy contact in the first corner, the pair once again coming together in the ERC. Doran perhaps came off worse sustaining rear suspension damage, but a red flag gave both the chance to return to paddock and re-enter the race. It seemed that Doran’s damage was too much, and he did not start Heat 2.

Young sensation Joni Wiman was again on top, the young Finn is on pole in the Super1600 class recording a fastest race time ahead of compatriot Teemu Suninen. It looks as if the Super1600 class will be decided within the Set Promotion team.

Swede Robin Larsson set fastest time in TouringCars, Irishman Derek Tohill gaining the second fastest  time. French youngster Firmin Cadeddu won in the JRX Cup class.

Pole position has thus been decided in all four classes.


Our man QBA’s NL image gallery here: