Countdown to WRX of Spain (CEST)

23 Sep 2012

Heat 2 claimed by Hedström

Category: ERC, News Posted 23.09.12 11:47 by

Under continuing rainfalls the second Qualifying Heat at the Tykkimäki track in Kouvola had Peter Hedström, Joni Wiman and Roman Častoral winning their categories.


At about high noon here in Finland the second Qualifying Heat was done, Swede Peter Hedström on top of the following order. The event was delayed by about 20 Minutes after there had been an incident between Estonian youngster Sten Oja (Mitsubishi Lancer E6) and Swedish veteran Stig-Olov Walfridsson (Renault Clio Mk3). Oja crashed into the stationary car of Walfridsson, although double yellow flags had been waved. As a result the Mitsubishi driver was excluded from the event.

Second to dominating Hedström was Liam Doran, the Briton followed by Russian Timur Timerzyanov. Fourth fastest was Mats Lysen, fifth Michaël De Keersmaecker and sixth Davy Jeanney. Hard cheese for American Tanner Foust who faced a flat tyre already in the opening lap, limped home to chequers and eventually find himself down on 20th place only. Although driving two very fast lap times at the end it was only a poor 13th place that stood for ERC rookie Timmy Hansen on the time keepers’ list.

Among the Super1600 drivers it was Marcus Grönholm protégé Joni Wiman (Renault Clio Mk2) who defended home ground against the Tatarstan-Russian Rasul Minnikhanov (Renault Twingo Mk2) and Swede Eric Färén (Citroën C2). Series leader Andreas Bakkerud from Norway finished on fifth place, his main rival Dane Ulrik Linnemann made it to tenth place.

Roman Častoral produced another strong demo run with his Opel Astra G here, the Czech was able to beat Irishman Derek Tohill (Ford Fiesta Mk7) as well as the two Swedes Anton Marklund (Ford Fiesta Mk7) and Robin Larsson (Škoda Fabia Mk1) to the places two to four.