Countdown to WRX of Spain (CEST)

23 Sep 2012

H3 goes to – Hedström also

Category: ERC, News Posted 23.09.12 14:07 by

The Qualifying Heats number 3 fell prey to Swede Peter Hedström in SuperCars, Pole Krzysztof Skorupski in Super1600s and Swede Robin Larsson in TouringCars.


The track conditions became even worse during the third Qualifying Heats, pouring rain came down on Kouvola. However, that did not bother Swedish Škoda campaigner Peter Hedström too much who was still in perfect mood after winning the second runs already. The man from Torsby produced another great drive to claim once more the fastest time to ensure himself the pole position for the Finnish A final. While Hedström finished the qualification with a clean result of only 2 points Briton Liam Doran scored for the third time 2 points for a second fastest time, to be able to start the last race of the day alongside the Swede. Timur Timerzyanov made it to the third fastest time as well as to the third place on the A final grid. Tanner Foust retired already in the first lap, the fuse of his wiper had called it a day and the American was left almost blinded by rain and mud.

In the Super1600s class homeboy Joni Wiman put himself in the limelight once more. Although the fastest time here went to Pole Krzysztof Skorupski the young Finn became runner-up and claimed the pole position for the all decisive A final. The place beside Wiman is for his teammate Teemu Suninen, the two youngsters currently leaving their two much more experienced Set Promotion mates Andreas Bakkerud and Jussi-Petteri Leppihalme in the shadow.

The TouringCars category saw a one-two result for the youngsters Robin Larsson and Anton Marklund, the Swedes now starting the A final from place one and two. Roman Častoral drove himself also into the front row for the last race, while Derek Tohill is fourth after qualification.