Countdown to WRX of Spain (CEST)

09 Apr 2012

Tanner Foust claims A final pole

Category: April, ERC, News Posted 09.04.12 16:56 by

US ace Tanner Foust dominated heat three to place him on pole in the A final of the SuperCars. Swede “Stecka” Walfridsson and Briton Andy Scott will also start on the front row. Linnemann wins heat three, but Leppihalme will start on pole for Super1600 alongside teammate Andreas Bakkerud. Derek Tohill was quickest in TouringCars.


Tanner Foust took the lead in the last race of heat three, holding on to take the quickest time. Foust drive faultlessly in extremely wet conditions. Walfridsson also started well, but was unable to pass the American ‘Rockstar’ driver.  British driver Andy Scott drove a sublime race to gain third fastest in the third heat. Scott took control of his race early on, and drove an error-free race time.


Despite finishing fifth in heat three, Norwegian young-gun Mats Lysen will start from fourth position in the A final. Liam Doran fails to make the A final after a bad start in his heat race. The race saw Guttorm Lindefjell take the win after Swede driver Peter Hedström crashed out narrowly avoiding contact. British Mitsubishi Evo X driver Steve Hill drove well in the wet conditions.


Jussi-Petteri Leppihalme qualifies on pole position in the Super1600 class. A third fastest time in heat three was enough to secure the best place on the grid.  Team mate Andreas Bakkerud qualifies second; Ulrik Linnemann will start in third, Skorupski fourth.


Among the TouringCar competitors Irishman Derek Tohill claimed the fastest time as well as the A final pole position by beating Czech Roman Častoral and Norwegian David Nordgård. Tohill’s time was four and a half seconds faster than Častoral’s.