Countdown to WRX of Spain (CEST)

04 Sep 2016

WRX: JK claims Lohéac

Category: News, WRX Posted 04.09.16 20:18 by

Johan Kristoffersson has claimed the eighth round of the 2016 Championship – the Swede took the round win from Andreas Bakkerud and home driver Sebastien Loeb.

Sweden’s Johan Kristoffersson dominated Q3 and Q4 and held off competitors at the packed Circuit de Lohéac to take the round win in a stunning weekend of Rallycross.

Kristoffersson leads the Supercar final from Petter Solberg and Andreas Bakkerud. © JKR/ERC24


Kristoffersson had started on pole position for semi-final two, with Andreas Bakkerud starting on pole in SF1. Kristoffersson took the semi-final win from Frenchman Sebastien Loeb and Hoonigan driver Ken Block. Likewise, Bakkerud took the a start-to-finish victory in his race from Petter Solberg and Reinis Nitiss.

In the final – from pole Kristoffersson looked unflappable. Bakkerud was a close challenger who eventually held off the delighted Frenchman Sebastien Loeb. Loeb has received outstanding home support throughout the entire weekend – and was able to reward his fans with a podium finish. Elsewhere, Petter Solberg was able to hold on to fourth, and therefore extend his lead at the top of the drivers championship standings. Reinis Nitiss and Ken Block took fifth and sixth respectively.

Bakkerud holds off Solberg who chase down Loheac round winner Kristoffersson. © JKR/ERC24


The Swedish EKS driver Ekstrom had looked the favourite to succeed in Loheac. Two wins in day one, and a second and third place finish in the Q’s three and four, ensured that the DTM driver held the coveted TQ classification. Q3 saw Johan Kristoffersson make an early break-through after the first session of qualifying of day two. Kristoffersson held off Ekstrom for the fastest time – with the pair of Swedes edging out ahead of the other challengers, and had the looked to have laid claim to a surge for the event win in France.

Final Results in Loheac…

2. Andreas BAKKERUD
3. Sébastien LOEB
4. Petter SOLBERG
5. Reinis NITISS
6. Ken BLOCK

Loheac 2016 podium from left, Loeb, Kristoffersson and Bakkerud. © JKR/ERC24


CHAMPIONSHIP POINTS (after eight rounds)

1. Petter SOLBERG 181
2. Mattias EKSTRÖM 176
4. Andreas BAKKERUD 157
5. Sébastien LOEB 141

Round nine takes place in two weeks time in Barcelona.