Countdown to WRX of Spain (CEST)

09 Oct 2012

BRC: Coox’ first victory

Category: Miscellaneous, News Posted 09.10.12 16:11 by

The final round of the Belgian Rallycross Championship at Maasmechelen was won by Jochen Coox while Jos Kuijpers won his 8th BRC title after finishing 6th overall here.


With beautiful ‘Golden October’ weather enjoying competitors, organisers and spectators alike last Sunday the final round of the Belgian Rallycross Championship took place at the Duivelsbergcircuit in the village of Opgrimbie, part of the town of Maasmechelen. Italo-Dutch SuperCars contender Jos Kuijpers had promised to do what his wife Thea was telling him, she calmed “Giuseppe” down to make sure that all went well on the way to his 8th BRC title. After the Ford campaigner had set the fastest time in the first qualification runs he was missing from the second heats, due to a problem with the throttle of his Fiesta Mk7. For the third qualifying races he was back to drive to a third fastest time here. With a place for the all-decisive A final the man with two passports [Dutch and Italian] had actually done already enough to ensure himself the Belgian title number 8.

In the last lap of the A final Kuijpers made a mistake, resulting in an incident with Belgian Ronny Scheveneels and Dutchman Ron Snoeck involved. As if that was not enough the chasing Belgian Jos Jansen was not able to avoid a crash, running his Ford Focus Mk3 over the Kuijpers Fiesta and the Pailler Peugeot 207 that was rented out by Scheveneels again. At the end of the day and BRC season it was that man Jochen Coox who claimed his first victory with the VW Scirocco Mk3. Patrick Van Mechelen became his runner-up, driving the well-known Subaru Impreza GD for the last time before taking over the Kuijpers’ Fiesta for his 2013 programme.


  • 1. Jochen Coox (B) VW Scirocco Mk3
  • 2. Patrick Van Mechelen (B) Subaru Impreza GD
  • 3. Koen Pauwels (B) Ford Focus Mk3
  • 4. Jos Jansen (B) Ford Focus Mk3
  • 5. Wil Teurlings (NL) Volvo S40 Mk1
  • 6. Jos Kuijpers (I) Ford Fiesta Mk7
  • 7. Ron Snoeck (NL) Seat Leon Mk2
  • 8. Ronny Scheveneels (B) Peugeot 207
  • 1. Dennis Remans (B) Ford Fiesta Mk6
  • 2. Davy Van Den Branden (B) Citroën C2
  • 3. Dave Van Beers (B) Renault Clio Mk2
  • 4. Willem Veltman (NL) Citroën C2
  • 5. Gerjo de Brouwer (NL) Suzuki Swift Sport RS
  • 6. Bart Stouten (B) Toyota Yaris Mk1
  • 7. Peter van de Wege (NL) Toyota Yaris Mk1
  • 8. Marcel Snoeijers (NL) Renault Clio Mk2
  • 1. Louis de Haas (NL) Opel Astra G
  • 2. Mandy Kasse (NL) Ford Fiesta Mk7
  • 3. Nick Snoeys (B) Ford Fiesta Mk6
  • 4. Ivo Van den Brandt (B) Mitsubishi Colt CZT
  • 5. Willem Slob (NL) VW Golf Mk4
  • 1. Michaël De Keersmaecker (B) Volvo 240
  • 2. Steve Volders (B) Ford Escort Mk3
  • 3. Luc Maris (B) Volvo S40 Mk2
  • 4. Ludo Vangeneugden (B) Volvo 240
  • 5. Ludo Triekels (B) BMW E30
  • 6. Danny De Beuckelaer (B) Opel Corsa B
  • 7. Kristof Bex (B) Volvo S40 Mk1
  • 8. David Vannijlen (B) Volvo 240
  • 1. Pedro Cokelaere (B) Honda Civic EK4
  • 2. Tom Meeusen (B) Mitsubishi Lancer
  • 3. Martijn Vanhove (B) Toyota MR2
  • 4. Kurt Lambers (B) Ford Sierra Cosworth
  • 5. Christope Chalmet (B) Honda Civic Mk7 Type-R
  • 6. Joël Strackx (B) Honda Civic
  • 7. Jef Mertens (B) Opel Astra F
  • 8. Marc Vandenbergh (B) Opel Corsa B