Countdown to WRX of Spain (CEST)

06 Dec 2012

2013 FIA/IMG RX approved

Category: ERC, News Posted 06.12.12 12:50 by

The FIA World Motor Sports Council (WMSC) has given the 2013 European Rallycross Championship (RX) its final approval.


The last 2012 FIA World Motor Sports Council (WMSC) meeting, that was held yesterday in Istanbul (Turkey) as part of the FIA Annual General Assembly, has given green light to the 2013 European Rallycross Championship, that will be run under its new ‘RX’ tag by promoter IMG. The meeting paved the way for some new regulations and confirmed eight of the ten proposed dates, while the other two remain provisional and subject to currently missing track homologations.


  • 2013 FIA/IMG European Rallycross Championship (RX) Calendar:
  • 31.03.–01.04. Lydden Hill Race Circuit at Wootton (Great Britain)
  • 27.04.–28.04. Pista Automóvel de Montalegre at Montalegre (Portugal)
  • 25.05.–26.05. Nyirádi Motorsport Centrum at Nyirád (Hungary)
  • 08.06.–09.06. Tykkimäen Moottorirata at Kouvola (Finland)
  • 15.06.–16.06. Lånkebanen at Hell (Norway)
  • 06.07.–07.07. Höljesbanan at Höljes (Sweden)
  • 17.08.–18.08. Mondello Park Circuit at Naas (Ireland) (subject to FIA track homologation)
  • 31.08.–01.09. Circuit de Lohéac at Lohéac (France) (subject to FIA track homologation)
  • 14.09.–15.09. PS Racing Center at Greinbach (Austria)
  • 21.09.–22.09. Estering at Buxtehude (Germany)


  • The following amendments to the 2013 Sporting Regulations have been approved:
  • Drivers will no longer be excluded from the race as a result of a false start; instead will be required to complete two Joker Laps.
  • The number of cars permitted to take part in the Final is set at six.
  • Results from each round of the Championship will count towards the title.
  • A ‘Rookie of the Year’ prize will be awarded to the highest-placed driver competing in their first FIA SuperCar season.
  • The limitation on the permitted number of tyres per event has been amended [for SuperCars only] from four to eight.
  • Drivers will be permitted a maximum of three engines per season. Any additional engines will be penalised by the deduction of 20 Championship points per engine.
  • Only two turbos are authorised per event. Any additional turbos will be penalised by the deduction of 15 Championship points.


Photo: After 40 years of history the European Rallycross Championship series is set to show a new face from 2013 on. © JKR/ERC24