Countdown to WRX of Spain (CEST)

24 Mar 2013

Rallycross Challenge

Category: News Posted 24.03.13 17:20 by

PR: The start of the new Rallycross season at the Austrian Wachauring is only a few weeks away and memorable Melk looking forward to the kick-off.


With organising Round 1 of the 2013 Rallycross Challenge Europe (RCE) the Wachauring has a catchy season opening. The Rallycross Challenge Europe on April 20 and 21 comes with the celebration of the 40th anniversary of the venue as well as the native Austrian Rallycross Championship (ARC) opener.

The Wachauring is the first circuit ever to host a round of the Rallycross Challenge Europe and it’s appreciated to see some experienced drivers entering the competition. Dutch-Italian Jos Kuijpers (Ford Focus Mk3), Briton Kevin Procter (Ford Focus Mk2), Czech Václav Veverka Jr. (Peugeot 206) as well as the two Frenchmen Eric Guillemette (Renault Clio Mk2) and Robert Theuil (VW Golf Mk4) are some of the drivers that have commited to be on the starting grid in April.

Alongside the international drivers a number of domestic newcomers are to make this first round in Melk even tougher. Austrian local heroes Jürgen Weiß and Alois Höller (both Ford Focus Mk1) will face fierce competition. Within the first two weeks the organisation of the Melk round has already received almost 30 confirmed entries for their event. A very good start for the challenge to reach the set goals. Further details about the entry list will be released during the next weeks.


Race of former champions – 40 Years of Austrian Rallycross

Exactly 40 years ago the first ever Rallycross race in Austria took place at the Wachauring (by then named Leruring) in Melk. This will be celebrated in the course of the ‘Rallycross Challenge Europe’ round. During the break, Rallycross champions of days gone by will race against each other in equal vehicles (VW Polo) and with that pay their respect to the traditional race track in Melk. Familiar names like Franz Wurz (ERC winner 1974, 1976 and 1982), Andy Bentza (ERC GT winner 1978), Herbert Grünsteidl (ERC winner 1977), Gery Pfeifer, Dieter-Karl Anton, Karlheinz Cmyral, Josef Lehr, Gerhard Öhlknecht, Friedrich Hainz, Rudi Frömel, Rudi Kroker and Belgian Jean Filippini have already confirmed their participation.


Photo: For three decades the former chicane with its view on Melk Abbey offered the most picturesque site in Rallycross. © EL/ERC24