Countdown to WRX of Spain (CEST)

31 May 2012

Three runs, three different winners

Category: ERC, May, News Posted 31.05.12 18:48 by

With three events down and seven to go the 2012 ERC season could not be more open. So far, there have been three different winning SuperCar drivers and eight different podium finishers from the first three events.

Anyone who had doubted the credibility of the European Rallycross Championship at the beginning of the 2012 season are now faced with a sequence of results which have proved that the ERC is as competitive as ever. But is the ERC entering a new era, an era without a Hansen, an Isachsen or a Larsson: multiple champions who were almost unbeatable in their days.

With the reigning European SuperCar champion taking on America, one thing is for sure, a new champion will be crowned at the end of this year.

Hansen Motorsport star Timur Timerzyanov was a definite favourite entering round one in April. His lack of entry at Lydden Hill, due to visa issue, may well be his downfall. Without a drop result the Russian will look to achieve as many competitive results in the remaing events of 2012. A win last weekend renewed his hopes of gaining the title, but he faces tough competition from the likes of his teammate Alexander Hvaal. In his first full season, Hvaal has stepped up to the mark gaining two consecutive second places in his Citroën C4

Liam Doran’s surprise commitment to the championship early this year showed an underlying hunger to conquer Europe. A podium at his home circuit and fourth in Austria, Doran tops the standings, marginally ahead with three points. Tanner Foust sits outside the top five. Commitments in the US last weekend left the American unable to defend his top spot, gained after a round one win. But it was the surprise French win by Brit Kevin Procter, which proved just how tight the battle is at the top.

On Saturday the ERC returns to the Nyirádi Motorsport Centrum in Hungary.  Sverre Isachsen was the last SuperCar driver to win there, the event proving to be a land mark win which led towards him securing is second consecutive title.

With the championship wide open, we are set for a thrilling season ahead.