Countdown to WRX of Spain (CEST)

02 Jun 2012

TT takes TP

Category: ERC, June, News Posted 02.06.12 15:38 by

Timur Timerzyanov was the fastest SuperCar driver in the Timed Practice session. Andreas Bakkerud best in S1600s and Derek Tohill quickest in TouringCars.

Hansen Motorsport driver Timur Timerzyanov was fastest when it counted. The Russian proved that he is hungry for a Heat 1 win, gaining his fastest  time in lap two and pushing hard to beat close second-place finisher Michaël De Keersmaecker who makes a surprise entrance to the top three after experience gained in Free Practice one and two.

Tanner Foust was again rapid, and third fastest puts him in a good position for the first qualifying heat at 16.00h. Frenchman Davy Jeanney was 4th fastest, and reiterated his optimism for the weekend. “I will keep pushing, I want to win here!” stated Jeanney.

Liam Doran is still fighting for the top spots, and finished fifth fastest. Early leader Mats Lysen was unable to capitalise on his good performances and finished sixth fastest. Kevin Procter was once again a non-starter. The team are still working hard to see if there is a solution for the oil pump failure.

“Mr Baby Blue” upped the Super1600s stakes by beating Ulrik Linnemann to fastest. Linnemann led both practice sessions this morning but was narrowly slower than Twingo campaigner Bakkerud. Pole Krzysztof Skorupski was third fastest, Swede David Johansson fourth.

Derek Tohill beat Robin Larsson to a TouringCars lead. Swede Larsson has looked eager to perform all morning. His compatriot Anton Marklund was third fastest.