Countdown to WRX of Spain (CEST)

24 Jun 2012

Apply some pressure

Category: ERC, June, News Posted 24.06.12 12:50 by

Yankee Tanner Foust sets fastest time in second heat while Russian Timerzyanov and Briton Doran did not finish. Both homeboys Andreas Bakkerud and Lars Øivind Enerberg continue domination of their classes.

The SuperCars did not fail to deliver!

Tanner Foust takes the second heat of ERC Norway with a quick time of 2:45.927. The American set the fastest time easily taking his race from Alexander Hvaal and Stig-Olov Walfridsson. The biggest shock in came when leading SuperCar driver Timur Timerzyanov lost his early lead in the final race in the heat. Timerzyanov spun out on the third corner, with Liam Doran closely trailing him and perhaps applying such pressure as to disturb Timerzyanov’s drive. Doran surged past the Russian, who was unable to re-start his car to finish the heat, only to send his DS3 flying off the road and into the over-growth, due to broken steering.

Timerzyanov now has a fight on his hands. The Hansen Motorsport driver will have get his car back for the third heat, thus to secure a place in the A final this afternoon. “We had a slight problem, and I made a small mistake, but we will get the car back for the third heat and see what we can do,” said the man from Tatarstan. Liam Doran is also not guarenteed a place in the A final. The ‘Monster’ man will have to score at least a top five fastest time in order to secure a position in the SuperCars’ main.

Daniel Holten showed true potential, rising to drive a great performance in his race, and setting a second fastest time in the second heat. Mats Lysen took full advantage of Timerzyanov’s and Doran’s slip ups – charging openly into the lead, after his gamble to take his Joker Lap first paid off. Tanner Foust, Mats Lysen and ‘Stecka’ Walfridsson are the top three leaders after three heats.

Andreas Bakkerud contiued to hold the reigns of the Super1600s class. The Twingo driver from Bergen took a clear win and a fastest race time of 2:56.376.  Storming off the line he was left alone to set another fast time. But the Set Promotion driver was only narrowly faster than up and coming challenger Ildar Rakhmatullin (who won his class here last year). Ulrik Linnemann did not finish and will have to drive hard in order to challenge Bakkerud’s class lead.

Lars Øivind Enerberg is back and in contention for an A final place. The Norwegian fought off competion from the likes of Tånevik and Tohill to qualify with an overall race time which was marginally faster than Anton Marklund’s. Marklund’s time classified as second fastest. Tom Daniel Tånevik and David Lundh third and fourth fastest. BMW driver Kim Steinsholt received a black flag in his race after being deemed to have unfairly ‘pushed’ Vegar Åslund.