Countdown to WRX of Spain (CEST)

30 Jun 2012

Russian rules the roost

Category: ERC, June, News Posted 30.06.12 18:31 by

UPDATED: Tatarstan-Russian Timur Timerzyanov is flying-high in Sweden, almost two seconds faster than any other SuperCar driver. Pole Skorupski wins S1600s heat and Norwegian Enerberg in TCs.

At present Timur Timerzyanov remains untouchable at the top. Local driver “Stecka” Walfridsson was the closest finisher, clinching a quick win in his race. Rally driver “P-G” Andersson provided a smooth drive resulting in the third fastest time. The Swede managed to complete a third fastest time despite breaking a steering arm on the second lap of his race. Morten Bermingrud provided the most tightly fought battle, exchanging places and blows with youngster Daniel Holten who put up a good fight in his second SuperCar drive, but could not overthrow Bermingrud. Fellow Norwegian Mats Lysen was fifth fastest.

Timerzyanov remained relaxed amidst his clear dominance so far: “Yes it was a good drive, the car is setup very well. But you know that the weather can change everything here. If  the weather is dry tomorrow then we’ll see what we can do,” said Timerzyanov.

Full results:

Polish driver Krzysztof Skorupski drove yet another stunning race time, and gaining a fastest time in Höljes for the Super1600s class. Skorupski beat Andreas Bakkerud off the line, and continued to hold his lead taking the best time. Jussi-Petteri Leppihalme was once again fast, but not fast enough. The Finn drove in a second fastest time ahead of Swede Citroën DS3 driver David Johansson and Set Promotion driver Bakkerud, who remains frustrated with his performance so far this weekend.

[Update: The Polish driver has since been excluded from the first heat, after it was judged by the race officials during re-scrutineering that the car’s underbody protection did not meet the FIA regulations.]

Full results:

Lars Øivind Enerberg was this time faster than Timed Practice victor Robin Larsson, Enerberg comfortably won his heat, avoiding contact to set the fastest TouringCars race time. Roman Častoral was second fastest. The Czech driver has returned this weekend, after missing out in Norway, and drove well to take a second fastest time knocking home favourite Robin Larsson (3rd 3.29,91) out of top two contention. The other Swedish youngster Anton Marklund finished fourth fastest, admitting that he is still off-pace. Daniel Lundh continues to impress home fans, driving in a fifth fastest time in heat one in his Volvo C30.

Full results:

Kevin Hansen won the first ever JRX Cup heat, with a fastest time miles quicker than closest challenger Marat Knyazev who set a second fastest time overall.