Countdown to WRX of Spain (CEST)

01 Jul 2012

Torsby man on Höljes pole

Category: ERC, July, News Posted 01.07.12 14:58 by

Peter Hedström goes fastest in outrageously wet conditions which shake-up the SuperCars in heat three. Eric Färén and Ole Håbjørg win their respective classes.

Stig-Olov Walfridsson from Torsby in Värmland will start in pole position for the SuperCars A final at his home track in Höljes. Timur Timerzyanov does enough this afternoon to secure the other front row position alongside his teammate Alexander Hvaal and the experienced Morten Bermingrud. Michaël De Keersmaecker and “P-G” Andersson also make the A final. But it was Peter Hedström who was the fastest wet driver in this afternoon’s final heat.

Local driver Mats Öhman drove sensationally to finish second fastest, and points leader Timur Timerzyanov third in a skilful drive in horrendous rain.

The final heat in Höljes ran in unbelievably wet conditions. The rain seemed to get heavier and heavier, with drivers almost having to wade their way around the Höljesbanan, in some cases rather cautiously. Conditions have gone from dry to wet in under an hour and teams will succeed this weekend only if they are able to adapt to the unforgiving Swedish weather.

Eric Färén applied strategies to his driving which his team manager in LA would be proud of. A cautious but quick race time secured him a heat three win for the Super1600s, and a position in the A final. Ulrik Linnemann will start on pole. The Dane drove in a stylish second fastest time, and secured pole in front of Andreas Bakkerud and Krzysztof Skorupski.

Ole Håbjørg won the third heat in TouringCars, faster than Swede Anton Marklund and Irishman Derek Tohill. Robin Larsson remains on pole for the A final after two quick times earlier today and yesterday. Anton Marklund will start alongside him, with Lars Øivind Enerberg also on the front row.