Countdown to WRX of Spain (CEST)

26 Oct 2012

2013 FIA ERC launch

Category: ERC, News Posted 26.10.12 22:54 by

The 2013 FIA European Rallycross Championship was launched today by new promoter IMG at the Santa Pod Raceway in the United Kingdom where 10 provisional dates and venues have been revealed while Monster Energy was announced as presenting sponsor.


Text: © WvdW


Today the calendar for next year’s ERC was published by its new promoter at the Santa Pod Raceway. At this UK racetrack IMG unveiled the 2013 FIA European Rallycross Championship series. IMG’s Rallycross managing director Martin Anayi announced a season with 10 races. He told ERC24 that they made the tough decision not to run events in both Belgium and Poland. But the intention is to get them also aboard in the near future. Which then will result in a season of 12 events instead of the 10 for next year. The race at Mondello Park in Ireland is not certain yet, because that track still needs an approval by the FIA. Also the whole European calendar has to be ratified by the FIA World Motorsport Council (WMSC) in December.


  • 31.03.–01.04. Lydden Hill Race Circuit at Wootton (GB)
  • 27.04.–28.04. Pista Automóvel de Montalegre at Montalegre (P)
  • 25.05.–26.05. Nyirádi Motorsport Centrum at Nyirád (H)
  • 15.06.–16.06. Lånkebanen at Hell (N)
  • 22.06.–23.06. Tykkimäen Moottorirata at Kouvola (FIN)
  • 06.07.–07.07. Höljesbanan at Höljes (S)
  • 17.08.–18.08. Mondello Park Circuit at Naas (IRL)
  • 07.09.–08.09. Circuit de Lohéac at Lohéac (F)
  • 14.09.–15.09. PS Racing Center at Greinbach (A)
  • 28.09.–29.09. Estering at Buxtehude (D)



SuperCar drivers are not known yet

The drivers to compete in the SuperCars class next season are not known yet. They will be announced in the next few weeks. “IMG has more than 35 applicants,” according to director Martin Anayi. And because there is only place for 20 drivers, “IMG is now in the process of deciding which drivers this will be,” Anayi continued. The criteria on which drivers will be chosen are based on their performances this year. For next year IMG proposed to the FIA that the top 10 finishers in the championship automatically can compete the following season.


Other classes

The JRX Cup will also be included in 2013, but not in all the 10 rounds. It will be more likely that they compete in 5 rounds. As IMG announced earlier the SuperCars will run in a different format next year. But the Super1600s and TouringCars are due to compete in the same way as in 2012. There will be reduced entry fees for the drivers. And for the 2013 ERC winners of these classes there will be a free test in a SuperCar on offer. They also get a reduction on the 2014 entree fee if they will change to the SuperCars class.


Photo: In 2013 SuperCars should be back in action at Kouvola in Finland. © JKR/ERC24