Countdown to WRX of Spain (CEST)

18 Jul 2012

NLRC: Kuijpers claims 10th

Category: July, Miscellaneous, News Posted 18.07.12 12:45 by

By winning another round of his native Rallycross championship Italo-Dutch Jos Kuijpers last Sunday at Valkenswaard ensured himself the 10th Dutch title.


Immediately after he had agreed with Patrick Van Mechelen that his Ford Fiesta Mk7 SuperCar would become the 2013 machinery of the Belgian that Italo-Dutch Rallycrosser Jos Kuijpers went out on the Eurocircuit to claim another victory as well as another Dutch title, already the 10th for the Ford campaigner from the town of Best. For next year “Giuseppe” is building a new Ford Focus Mk3 SuperCar, entrusted with an engine and gearbox like he is currently using in his Fiesta. Kuijpers is going to drive the Mk7 Fiesta in a couple of more events before the 2012 Dutch title winning SuperCar will find its new home in Belgium.

The Super1600s class A final ended with another one-two victory for the Renault Clio Mk2 campaigners, Dutchman Marcel Snoeijers and Belgian Dave Van Beers. While Snoeijers ensured himself the championship title for two of his competitors the 4th NLRC round had hard cheese on offer. Toyota driver Peter van de Wege was not able to overcome the problems with the gearbox of his Mk1 Yaris and Citroën man Davy Van Den Branden stranded in the A final with his C2 in the kitty-litter behind the Eurocircuit chicane, after the right front suspension of the Super1600 car had called it a day.

In TouringCars Koen Pauwels had chosen to race his ERC Ford Fiesta Mk7 this time, rather than the Volvo C30 he had borrowed from his compatriot Jos Sterkens for a couple of events. However, the Belgian won the mixed A final of the TouringCars and the SuperNationals with engines up to 2000cc while the SuperNational class for cars with engines over 2000cc was bagged for yet another time by Kristof Bex and his first generation Volvo S40.


  • 1. Jos Kuijpers (I) Ford Fiesta Mk7
  • 2. Ron Snoeck (NL) Seat Leon Mk2
  • 3. Wil Teurlings (NL) Volvo S40 Mk1
  • 4. Jan van Loon (NL) Ford Fiesta Mk7
  • 5. Jos Jansen (B) Ford Focus Mk3
  • 1. Marcel Snoeijers (NL) Renault Clio Mk2
  • 2. Dave Van Beers (B) Renault Clio Mk2
  • 3. Willem Veltman (NL) Citroën C2
  • 4. Dennis van Rijn (NL) Škoda Fabia Mk2
  • 5. Peter van de Wege (NL) Toyota Yaris Mk1
  • 6. Gerjo de Brouwer (NL) Suzuki Swift Sport
  • 7. Davy Van Den Branden (B) Citroën C2
  • 1. Koen Pauwels (B) Ford Fiesta Mk7
  • 2. Christ Moelands (NL) BMW 1 E87
  • 3. Louis de Haas (NL) Opel Astra G
  • 4. Tom Meeusen (B) Mitsubishi Lancer
  • 5. Mandy Kasse (NL) Ford Fiesta Mk7
  • 6. Willem Slob (NL) VW Golf Mk4
  • 7. Nick Snoeys (B) Ford Fiesta Mk6
  • 8. Cor Kroon (NL) Opel Kadett E
  • 1. Kristof Bex (B) Volvo S40 Mk1
  • 2. Luc Maris (B) Volvo S40 Mk2
  • 3. Steven Maris (B) Volvo 240
  • 4. Filip Baelus (B) Volvo C30
  • 5. Davy Leysen (B) BMW E36
  • 6. Roland Myny (B) Volvo S40 Mk2
  • 7. Frans De Wit (B) BMW E36 Compact
  • 8. Steve Volders (B) Ford Escort Mk3