Countdown to WRX of Spain (CEST)

27 May 2012

Jeanney already on A pole

Category: ERC, May, News Posted 27.05.12 12:52 by

After scoring the fastest qualifying times in both, the first and second qualifying heats Frenchman Davy Jeanney has ensured himself pole for the A final in SuperCars already.

The 2nd Heats of the Greinbach ERC round are done. Frenchman Davy Jeanney, Pole Krzysztof Skorupski and Swede Robin Larsson claimed the fastest times of their respective category. While the French Citroën C4 driver was a class of his own, being more than two seconds faster than his competitors, Renault Clio Mk3 campaigner Mats Lysen fought back after his exclusion from the 1st Runs. The Norwegian made it to the second time, but was just a fraction of a second quicker than his compatriot Alexander Hvaal in the Citroën C4 of Hansen Motorsport. Swede Stig-Olof Walfridsson is out of the game now, the spare engine the Helmia team yesterday put into his third generation Renault Clio finished its life in the third lap.

2nd Heat SuperCars results here:

In the Super1600s class Pole Krzysztof Skorupski (VW Polo Mk4) grabbed the fastest time from Swede David Johansson (Citroën DS3) and Russian Ildar Rakhmatullin. Joined ERC leaders Jussi-Petteri Leppihalme and his Set Promotion team colleague Andreas Bakkerud following the order on fourth respectively fifth place.

2nd Heat Super1600s results here:

The son of double ERC winner Lars Larsson, Swede Robin Larsson was the fastest among the TouringCar drivers. Seen that this is his first ERC round with the rear-wheel driven Škoda Fabia Mk1 the result is impressive. Irish Ford Fiesta Mk7 driver Derek Tohill made it to the second place while his Swedish make colleague Anton Marklund drove his Fiesta to the third time. Non finishers in the TCs were Norwegian David Nordgård and the two Belgians Koen Pauwels and Pedro Bonnet.

2nd Heat TouringCars results here: